Burton Street Classes Complete Global Lesson Study!

Written by on . Posted in *District News, ES News

Article written by Mrs. Kempf

On May 7, 2021, students at Burton Street Elementary School shared their science learning with the world! Quite literally, over 100 people from around the world–13 states and 10 countries–tuned into a virtual live research lesson featuring the students in Mrs. Beth Ann Kempf’s first grade classroom. The observers included local school teachers, staff at the Smithsonian Science Education Center, who wrote the curriculum materials, and other members of the American Educational Research Association.

The research lesson was the culmination of a 4-month Lesson Study cycle that a team of teachers from Burton Street participated in with guidance from Dr. Sharon Dotger, an Associate Professor of Science Education at Syracuse University.

In Lesson Study, teams of teachers and administrators spend time studying the learning standards and their curriculum materials to develop a deeper understanding of the content and teaching methods they will use with their students. They write a very detailed research plan to anticipate how their research-informed teaching methods are expected to work with the students when the lesson is taught.

In this Lesson Study cycle, the group focused on ideas about teaching students how to improve their classroom discussions, write in their science notebooks, and use their peers’ ideas, which the teacher writes on the board, to improve their scientific thinking. They then applied what they learned to enhance a science lesson where students were challenged to analyze two models of the moon and determine which was more accurate. During a discussion following the lesson, expert comments were provided by Dr. Terrance Burgess of Michigan State University and Dr. Sarah Glassman of the Smithsonian Science Education Center.

In addition to Mrs. Kempf and Dr. Dotger, the Lesson Study team consisted of Mrs. Christy Allen (Kindergarten), Mrs. Julie Kielbasinski (2nd grade), Mrs. Stefanie Lints (4th grade) from Burton Street, Mrs. Elizabeth Shepard (1st grade) from Bolivar Road Elementary School in Chittenango, and Jennifer Heckathorn, a doctoral student at Syracuse University.

Boys Track Wins Sectionals!

Written by on . Posted in *District News, Athletics News, HS News

Congratulations to the Boys Varsity Track & Field team for completing an undefeated season with a sectional title last night, Tuesday, June 8, 2021, in Holland Patent, NY. The final score of the sectionals was as follows: Cazenovia 1st place 161 points, 2nd place Clinton with 90 points, and 3rd place Skaneateles with 70 points. Congratulations to the entire team and coaching staff!



National Honor Society Inducts New Members

Written by on . Posted in *District News, Featured Posts, HS News

Owahgena Chapter of the National Honor Society Inducts New Members

National Honor Society members and inductees of the Owahgena Chapter gathered on Wednesday, May 26th at St. James Church to celebrate the 82nd Annual Induction Ceremony.  Mrs. Susan Tresco, National Honor Society advisor, greeted all inductees, current members, and family members to the ceremony.  

Chapter President, Lili Gavitt welcomed all in attendance and provided a summary of the work the inductees and current members have undertaken this year.  Lili shared, “It’s been a strange year for the NHS, to say the least, but I think we’re all glad to be here in person to see our inductees finally make their membership official.”  Lili went on to commend the inductees on their accomplishments and reminded members of the four pillars that constitute the values of NHS, which are scholarship, leadership, character, and service.   Lili also complimented the group on the accomplishment of their year long NHS service project, commending  participants in their work with Project Cafe in the creation and opening of the Henry Burden Park on Mill Street.  

Following the introduction by Lili, NHS officers Elora Wilmot, Megan Lawton, Ava Gavitt, Ryan Probe and Helen Hausser proceeded with their leadership of the ceremony. Each inductee to the chapter was presented with their NHS pin and certificate.  Senior inductees were also presented with their NHS cords, to be worn at commencement.

Special thanks was offered to St. James Church, for their generosity of using their space.  Additionally, NHS members extended their appreciation to the district and building administration for their support and to the High School Communications Club for live streaming the event for family members and guests that could not attend.  

New inductees:

Charlie Aronson

Claire Braaten

Olivia Buyea

Sophie Clancy

Lily Clonan

Brody Coleman

Jake DeCew

Dali Denison

Brooke Devendorf

Cody Dickinson

Clare Douglas

Anna Edwards

Shae Finnerty

Emily Forrett

Leigha Fostveit

Laura Fitzgerald

Tara Frost

Caryn Gagnon

Shaun Goodman

Kenzie Halliday

Wyatt Hartley

Amanda Heacock

Cooper Hughes

Jacob Ives

Andrew Kent

Morgan Kingsley

Megan Kuhn

Fiona Larkin

James LaFever

Peter McCole

Benjamin McPherson

Max Micheal

Melanie Michael

Daniel Millson

Gavin Moy

Morgan Moynihan

Erich Omans

Benjamin Orbach

Baylee Pierce

Hannora Race

Mitch Romig

Maggie Rowles

Carter Ruddy

Ainsly Schug

Hadley Schug

Emma Schwartz

Nadia Segall

Michael Senehi

Marissa Smith

Quinn Smith

Samantha Sparks

Emma Steinberg

Carleigh Szalach

Fiona Tobin

Natalie Alexis Tresco

Isabella Uzcategui

Jake Wardell

Katie Whitney

Mary Williams

Alyson Woolbert

Jackson Wright

District Numbers

  • Business Office
  • High School Office
  • Middle School Office
  • Burton Street Office
  • Special Education
  • Athletics & Comm.
  • Tech Coordinator
  • Transportation
  • Buildings and Grounds
  • More district numbers
  • 315.655.1340
  • 315.655.1314
  • 315.655.1324
  • 315.655.1325
  • 315.655.5313
  • 315.655.1358
  • 315.655.5303
  • 315.655.1326
  • 315.655.5354
  • click here

Emergency Info

Caz News


About Cazenovia